Meet the team

Gav

Head of Operations


For 19 years I have been 'living the dream' with the Cumbria Outdoors team. I love paddling, climbing, generally being outdoors and time with my kids. I have various professional qualifications in the outdoors, and in 2019 decided to start a Masters to add to my repertoire!

Woody

Outdoor Education Leader


This is my second year as a permanent member of staff, but I've been a casual employee for 10 years.  I love climbing, paddling, caving, and having adventures. I am remarkably good at plaiting hair!

Russel

Outdoor Educational Leader


From casual to seasonal to permanent, I have been with the team for five years now.  I Love walking, climbing, and biking, spending time with my family and events with my local church.  I can make a mean roast dinner!

Paul

Outdoor Education Leader


This is my second season with the team.  My main love is paddlesports and I have paddled the Great Glen canoe trail, the Ardeche River in France, and completed a 100-mile journey on the River Wye. I am looking forward to getting to know Derwentwater and Bassenthwaite Lake!

Robin

Outdoor Education Leader


This is my first year with cumbria outdoors team, I am a keen runner and climber but enjoy any opportunity to spend time in the outdoors. In my limited free time I love to draw and paint and spend time with my young family.

Chris

Outdoor Education Leader


I was once a well-travelled climber and mountaineer. But these days I am content to run in the fells, paddle or sail on the lakes or bore those too polite to leave with stories of my adventures as a youth. I am new to Hawse End but have twenty years of experience with in the industry.

Allison

Housekeeper


I have been with the team for three years, plus a few more before I left and returned!  I love camping in my trailer tent, DIY, relaxing in my hot tub, but mostly my new Grandson.

Karl

Housekeeper


In my ten years with the team I have become famous for my sticky toffee pudding and steak pie recipe. I love Football and have recently become a Dad.

Kath

Assistant Housekeeper


30 years I have spent with the team, and negotiating the country roads on snowy days!  I love wordsearches, puzzles and shopping.

Natalie

Business Support


I have been with the team for 6 years. I love keeping fit, anything equestrian, including caring for my two resident ponies, family days with my new grandson and making special cakes for people.  I am the 'money lady' and organise all the invoices, take bookings and liaise with customers. The list goes on…

Lesley

Housekeeping Co-ordinator


I have been with the team for 14 years. I love spending time with my large family, especially my grandaughter Lucy, and taking my Cockerpoo Ted for country walks. I am responsible for the day to day running of the Housekeeping team. If you want to know anything about dietary requirements and allergens I'm your woman!

Deborah

Business and Projects Manager


I have been with the team for a decade or two, let's say it's in excess of when you stop counting the years!  I really enjoy walking in the hills, but don't get to do it often enough!  In another life I may have been a gardener, chef, or cat breeder, but I do have the 'handle' of @queenmeringue on Instagram!

William

Maintenance Technician


I have been keeping the centres maintained for 6 years, and apparently "No job too big or too small for a man of Williams talents!"